Arrested? Suffering from a past conviction?

Call us or Click Here to schedule your free, in-person (weekends often available).

If our operators are busy, leave a detailed voice message.

Contact Us Now!

Penalties for DUI

If You’ve Been Charged, the Clock is Ticking. Call Today.

Penalties for DUIs in California will depend on whether you have previously been convicted of a DUI, and they will increase if you have multiple DUIs within the previous 10 years. The ways in which DUI penalties apply are complex, as they consider a variety of different factors and unique circumstances. Our team at Second Chances Law Group is prepared to offer you top-notch, reliable representation for the charges you are facing.

There are steps a vigilant defense counselor can be making for you today. Call our offices to learn what The Second Chances Law Groupcan do for you.

DUI Consequences in California

In order to get a thorough understanding of the penalties you could be facing and the potential plea bargain or defense options which are available to you, speaking with a DUI defense lawyer is in your best interest. The consequences you could face depend on the number of convictions you have on your record.

The penalties for DUI are as follows:

  • First DUI: For your first DUI conviction, the penalty you face can include informal probation for 3-5 years, 96 hours up to 6 months in county jail; up to $1,000 in fines, mandatory participation in an alcohol and/or drug education program, usually lasting 3 to 9 months, and your driver’s license being suspended from 6 to 10 months (with possible use of a restricted license).
  • Second DUI: If you are convicted of a second DUI within ten years of your first one, the penalties you face can include 3-5years of probation, at least 96 hours, and up to 1 year in a county jail, up to $1,000 in fines, mandatory completion of a California DUI education program, generally lasting 18 to 30 months, and your driver’s license being suspended for two years, which after 1 year can be converted to a restricted license.
  • Third DUI: If you are convicted of a third DUI within ten years, you can face 3-5 years of informal probation, at least 120 days and up to a maximum of 1 year in a county jail; up to $1,000 in fines, mandatory completion of a California DUI education program lasting 30 months, and your license being suspended for 3 years, which you can seek to convert to a restricted license after 18 months. You will also be designated as a "habitual traffic offender" by the California DMV.
  • Felony DUI: If you are convicted of acquiring 4 or more DUIs within a 10 year period, you will face felony DUI charges, for which the penalties can include 16 months to 3 years in state prison; up to $1,000 in fines, your license will be revoked for 4 years, and you will be designated as a Habitual Traffic Offender.

Our DUI defense attorneys and team members are incredibly skilled, effective, and results-oriented. Contact us today at (626) 827-7222 to set up your free case consultation.

Get in Touch with Second Chances Law Group

Schedule Your Free Appointment with Our Award-Winning Court Attorneys
Freedom at your Fingertips
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.
  • Must be checked