Arrested? Suffering from a past conviction?

Call us or Click Here to schedule your free, in-person (weekends often available).

If our operators are busy, leave a detailed voice message.

Contact Us Now!

Car Insurance after California DUI

Car insurance rates can rise by up to 165% when a driver is under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Additionally, repeat Driving Under the Influence (DUI) offenders may experience a double or triple increase in their auto insurance rates. However, average prices differ from company to company, which is why drivers should compare vehicle insurance quotes to find the best deals.

People with DUI convictions and license suspensions are viewed as high risk by insurers. However, insurance companies consider a variety of factors when determining premiums, such as age, gender, marital status, driving background and experience, dwelling, and homeownership or tenancy.

Rates may increase due to traffic violations or reckless driving (VC §23103), racing, and accidents. However, DUIs are the most significant increases [See How long does a DUI affect insurance in California? Wallet Hub (August 5, 2021); Ross Martin, California Car Insurance with a DUI, The Zebra (June 10, 2021)].

Within three to five years of the date of the DUI conviction, the majority of insurance companies begin to lower a driver's insurance rates. Insurers occasionally need up to seven years or more to totally ignore prior DUIs when determining premiums [See How long does a DUI affect insurance in California? Wallet Hub (August 5, 2021); Ross Martin, California Car Insurance with a DUI, The Zebra (June 10, 2021)].

All drivers in California are required by law to carry auto insurance; thus, it is the state's responsibility to make sure that everyone has access to coverage at all times. DUI offenders usually get the best auto insurance by working with brokers. Otherwise, individuals can seek liability insurance through the California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan (CAARP).

Through the CAARP program, high-risked drivers are matched with insurance providers. Drivers who are unable to obtain high-risk or SR-22 coverage on their own after a DUI will be given policies by these businesses. By calling 1-800-622-0954 or speaking with any auto insurance agent or broker, you can receive CAARP coverage [California Vehicle Codes §16000 – 16078 (“The Compulsory Financial Responsibility Act”)].

In California, drivers are not required to inform their vehicle insurance provider of DUI arrests, DUI convictions, or driver's license suspensions. Nothing under California Vehicle Code §23152 makes it an obligation for drivers to notify their insurers of their DUI convictions. However, whether or not due to DUI, drivers must inform their insurer if they were involved in an accident.

SR-22 "proof of insurance"

The SR-22 attests to a driver's possession of motor liability insurance that satisfies California's "15/30/5" minimum coverage requirements. This indicates that the driver's liability coverage will provide up to $15,000 for the death or bodily injury of one person, $30,000 total for the wrongful death or bodily liability of all people hurt or killed in the accident, and $5,000 for property damage.

SR-22 "proof of insurance" is normally required for three years for DUI defendants. The SR-22 will be canceled if they allow their insurance to lapse. The person's license will thereafter be reinstated by the DMV.

Cancelation of Insurance Policy after DUI is illegal

Even after a DUI, it is illegal for insurers in California to cancel auto insurance plans before the policy term has ended. However, when the insurance is due for renewal, the carrier is legally permitted to cancel policy or provide a renewal with different conditions, like a higher premium rate.

Moreover, Insurers are also required by law to eliminate their "good driver discount" when renewing coverage for DUI drivers. [California Insurance Code §1861.025c]

Effect of Expungement on Insurance Policy

Expungement of your DUI conviction does not have any effect on your insurance policy considering that it merely results in the removal of your DUI conviction from your criminal record. It should be emphasized that even after expungement, your DUI conviction remains on your California Driving Record.

A DUI is recorded for a "lookback period" of 10 years on a driver's California DMV record. As a result, an infraction that has been expunged will not result in lower premiums as long as the offense is still on the record [California Vehicle Code §1808b1 VC].

Speak with a DUI attorney today by calling (626) 827-7222!

Get in Touch with Second Chances Law Group

Schedule Your Free Appointment with Our Award-Winning Court Attorneys
Freedom at your Fingertips
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.
  • Must be checked